Chocolate Muffin in a Mug

Breakfast is served! Chocolate Muffin in a Mug and a smoothie.

Breakfast is served! Chocolate Muffin in a Mug and a smoothie.

Need a quick and tasty morning meal? You can pre-make the mix ahead of time to make this even quicker! Pair it with a fruit smoothie (pre-packaged ahead of time, as well) and you are good to go!

Some things I include in my smoothies. The green cubes are my potassium power soup frozen in an ice cube tray. But you could just toss in a handful of spinach instead.

Some things I include in my smoothies. The green cubes are my potassium power soup frozen in an ice cube tray. But you could just toss in a handful of spinach instead.

To make the smoothie packs, just put your cut up fruit of choice along with a few cubes of your favorite yogurt (that you have frozen in ice cube trays ahead of time) in single serve sizes in baggies and toss them in the freezer. When you want a smoothie, simply dump the contents of one baggie in a high-speed blender along with juice squeezed from 2-3 oranges (or other juice of your liking) and a handful of spinach.

Individual servings of smoothie ingredients. Just add 1/2 cup of  juice and a handful of spinach!

Individual servings of smoothie ingredients. Just add 1/2 cup of juice and a handful of spinach!

To pre-make the muffin mixture ahead of time you can prepare several little baggies of all the dry ingredients ahead of time. When you want a muffin, just add the egg, coconut oil, applesauce and banana. Easy peasy!

This is how I store my pre-packaged muffin-in-a-mug mix.

This is how I store my pre-packaged muffin-in-a-mug mix.

Muffin in a Mug (adapted from Trim Healthy Mama)

Yields 1 muffin

1 egg
1 flat Tbsp coconut oil; can be solid or liquid
1-1/2 Tbsp golden flax meal
1-1/2 Tbsp almond flour
1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder heaping
1/2 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp unsweetened organic applesauce (optional)
2 inches of a ripe banana (the banana really helps to add sweetness to the muffin)

Directions

Crack 1 egg into a coffee cup and whisk it well with a fork.
Add coconut oil and stir together briskly.
Add dry ingredients and stir until well mixed.
Add applesauce and banana, mash it against side of cup and stir it vigorously.
Microwave for one minute.
Muffin will pop right out of your mug onto a plate when tipped upside down.

Slice it open and top with a small pat of grass-fed, real butter

I don’t put any other sweetener in this besides the fruit. However, my taste buds have changed a bit since I cut refined sugar from my diet. I have had people add a little stevia to start with, and eventually they weaned themselves off of it as their taste buds changed. You could also try adding a tiny bit of honey or maple syrup in place of the applesauce. If you add both, your muffin will be too ‘wet.’

If you are diabetic and cannot have fruit, add a little stevia in place of the banana or syrup.

Leave a comment