Beating the Challenges of Eating Out

restaurants collage

Enough Is Enough!

Between summer vacations, day trips, the heat and life’s unexpected interruptions I find myself seated in a restaurant far more often than I do at any other time of the year. This week I decided I had enough, and needed to clarify my boundaries once again.

So, to refresh my memory and give me a little motivating pep talk, I re-read my own class lesson that I teach at some of my Clean Eating Classes.

Yes, even those of us who preach and teach the clean eating lifestyle can fall off the wagon at times! The important thing is not that we fall, but that we pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and get back in the wagon.

There is definitely no ‘one size fits all’ To-Do List that is going to work for everyone. I wish it were that easy! We all lead different lives, and our schedules and activities do not look the same. In the same way, there are times when our normal weekly patterns change significantly (summertime, holiday seasons, life circumstances) and we find ourselves struggling to ‘keep it clean’. The important thing is to recognize when my clean eating lifestyle is being consistently compromised, and to make the changes necessary to bring it under control.

When we stop thinking about our food and what we are ordering, we are led by our cravings.

Pure and simple.

And we all know where that gets us!

Even if you are not overweight because you happen to have a super metabolism or you’re still young, you are not nourishing your body with healthy food, and you will pay a price at some point in time, in some way. All it takes is a little pre-planning and research to make some smart choices. Below are some things I regularly practice when eating out:

FAST FOOD RESTAURANTS

1) Avoid the places you cannot eat out at. Just determine to NEVER go there.

I have personally crossed off all but a few fast food restaurants from the list of places I will eat at. Knowing that McDonalds, Burger King, Carl’s Jr, Del Taco, etc. are not even an option really helps me narrow down my choices, which in turn, helps me make better choices. It also ensures I won’t eat out at a fast food restaurant very often.  😉

2) Choose which places you will allow yourself to eat at occasionally.

Limit your choices to the fast food restaurants with “better” ingredients and flexibility in ordering. My allowed fast food eateries (for the most part) are Chipotle, Flame Broiler, Baja Taco and In & Out. I can order just the ingredients I want at each of these places, and those ingredients are fairly good clean eating choices.

Occasionally if I feel like I want a splurge (once or twice a month) I will go to Baker’s or my absolute favorite, Freddy’s. When I splurge, I pretty much get what I want…not the worst things on the menu, but not the best, either. I figure once or twice a month isn’t going to kill me, and if I am doing well the rest of the time, my body can deal with ridding itself of the toxins. At Bakers I will get a bean, rice and cheese burrito and fries. At Freddy’s I get 3 chicken strips, fries and a mini chocolate concrete with oreos and strawberries. I always get water to drink. Never soda. Soda is totally disgusting to me anymore.

So, as you can see, I do splurge.

Occasionally.

3) Know the menu, what you CAN eat and what you will order BEFORE you arrive.

This is fairly easy to do with fast food restaurants, because there are relatively few things on the menu that you can order and still keep it clean. 🙂 Furthermore, if you have limited the number of places you will go to, then there are really only a few different menus to remember.

4) Decide how often you will eat out at a fast food restaurant

This will vary from person to person and depend on your schedule/lifestyle. I am able to be at home for most of my meals because I have a very flexible schedule that I can control, for the most part. I make sure my shopping trips and other appointments do not happen over a meal time as much as I possibly can. I eat out at a fast food restaurant about once a week, on average.

On the other hand, my husband eats lunch out every day at work. He has chosen a few places to go that are “better options” and he tries to stick to those as much as possible. Pre-planning in your head makes the difference. If you know where you are going to go, and what you will order when you get there, you will be less likely to go rogue and totally mess up your clean eating diet.

You’re working hard to get your body in good working order.

Don’t mess it up for the sake of convenience!!!

 

WHEN FAST FOOD IS YOUR ONLY OPTION…

Always go the restaurants website and check out the menu and nutrition info. Most have it, although some make it a little difficult to find! This will always help you to make a wise, informed decision on the best choice for you at this particular restaurant.

Know that fast food restaurants DO NOT use organic vegetables, pasture fed beef or free range chickens UNLESS they advertise that they do.

NEVER get drinks at a restaurant. Steer clear of the sodas, sweet teas and fruit drinks.

IMG_8172

A few fast food restaurants near me that I have checked into:

Baja Taco: Baja Taco has no nutritional information on their website, but their menu is there, so you can check it out before you go. They may have nutritional information at the restaurant for you to look over. It would be best to skip the rice and just go with the tacos and beans.

Bakers: Bakers is definitely not clean eating, but they do have a side salad. Bring your own dressing. It would be best to resist getting your food in a meal. Skip the soda and fries. 😉

Chipotle: I love Chipotle’s Ingredient Statement page! It lists every ingredient in every item in a clear and concise way. It also lists next to the ingredient if it is locally grown, responsibly raised, organic, and if it is pasture raised dairy. It continues to be responsible by listing ingredients that contain/may contain GMO’s, hydrogenated oils, and preservatives. AND it explains exactly what they mean by each term. LOVE it! It also has a special diet information page to address gluten and allergies. They have a Nutrition Calculator, so you can customize the ingredients you get in your bowl, burrito, etc. to tell you the nutrient counts for the meal you created. I am totally impressed with Chipotle’s honesty and integrity in their ingredients.

Down Home Grill: This is a new fast food restaurant in the High Desert with very diverse menu choices that advertises local, grass fed and organic beef, organic eggs, coconut and vegetable oils, GMO and gluten free pancakes & waffles, real maple syrup, and fresh cut fries. I have eaten here, and their food is delicious. However, while their meat and eggs are organic and there are some good healthy choices to pick from off their menu, there are also some that aren’t. (Fried Oreos, anyone?!)

Their menu is on their website, but I couldn’t find a list of ingredients or nutritional value information. For instance, they use real potatoes for french fries, but I have no idea what kind of oil they are fried in. And because I’ve been there I know they have several different bread choices to choose from for their sandwiches, but I don’t know the quality of their 100% whole wheat bread, because I have no idea of the ingredients.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant because it is one of the few fast food places you can get organic meat and eggs. Also, their food is superb, portion sizes are generous, there is a wide variety of menu items, and they are a local small business (which I prefer over large chain types). You may pay slightly more, but it is worth it.

Flame Broiler: Their nutrition chart is clear and easy to read. Brown rice is always better than white rice, and I order ½ the amount of rice they normally put in, replacing it with veggies. (I also ask for half the amount of cabbage, because they tend to put more of that in their bowls than I like). Notice, their broccoli and carrots do contain a little sodium. I also order all white meat (less fat and sodium). If you check out their nutrition panels for their sauces, you can see why you should totally skip them and bring your own. Lots of sugar and sodium and ingredients I can’t pronounce. It’s best just to bring some coconut aminos of your own. Their website announces right up front:  No Added MSG | No Dairy | No Trans Fat | No Skin | No Frying | No HFCS (high fructose corn syrup)

Freddy’s: Freddy’s had no nutritional information online, but they should have it at the restaurant. They did have their menu, so you could check it out before you go.

In & Out: The best choice here is a hamburger, protein style. I don’t find it terribly filling, however. 😉  The french fries are fresh potatoes cooked in trans-fat free, cholesterol free vegetable oil, which tells me it most likely contains GMO’s. I usually still eat a few, but it’s best to get an order to split with someone, so you don’t wind up eating the whole thing!

McDonald’s: Their Nutritional Information was 22 pages long! About the only things that might come semi-close to trying to eat clean are the side salad (no dressing; bring your own), Apple Dippers (without the dip, and realizing the apples have been treated to keep from turning brown; best to just bring an apple on the road with you!) and orange juice (surely not clean). Even their “healthy” option, the grilled chicken breast filet has about 26 different ingredients, and the liquid margarine in which it’s prepared has about a dozen more. Yuck! Now you see why I crossed McDonalds off my list of places to go!

Panda Express: This was their statement concerning MSG: “Panda Express does not add MSG to any of our entrees or sides and we do not purchase products from suppliers who add MSG. However, glutamate is found naturally in some ingredients.” They do not have gluten free foods, and they cannot promise allergy free foods, as they may have cross contamination during cooking. They do offer a great Nutritional Information download and a nutritional calculator to customized to the meal you create.

The best options for your sides would be brown steamed rice (not fried rice) and steamed veggies. The chow mein is a really poor choice, as it has 490 calories, 22 grams of fat, 980 mg sodium, 9 grams of sugar, and contains processed wheat. In fact, all of their food is very high in sodium and sugars. I would skip any of their entrées that include sauces or coatings. Their String Bean Chicken Breast and their Beef and Broccoli seem to be the best choices here. (I don’t go here unless I HAVE to)

The mainstay with any Chinese restaurant is brown rice and steamed veggies sprinkled with some light soy sauce (or better yet, bring a little bit of your coconut aminos instead of the soy sauce). Check to see if the restaurant is MSG free.

Pizzerias: It’s generally cleaner to eat at a local pizzeria than a chain. Most offer salads (bring your own dressing) and if you can top it with veggies, all the better! If you must eat pizza, see if they offer a whole wheat crust, and order the thin crust instead of deep dish. Pack on the veggies! I personally would forgo any meat in a pizza place, as most of it is greasy to me anyway. If you like meat on your pizza, try to stick with chicken or ground turkey when possible (realizing it is not going to be organic or hormone/antibiotic free), and totally avoid things like pepperoni and sausage. Then practice portion control!

Subway: Subway foods are incredibly high in sodium and cholesterol, as well as sugar. The best option here is to go with their chopped salad and bring your own dressing.

Wendy’s: Their nutritional info. was a bit harder to navigate and you can’t see it all at one glance, but the info. is there for each individual item. I liked that you can order half salads as an option. They don’t seem too bad, if you forgo their dressings, although they are still high in sodium and sometimes sugar, depending on what you choose. You could fork on some mandarin orange segments to sweeten it up a bit, which are sold as a dessert. Or, you could order a dry baked potato with chives and broccoli (no cheese), plus a side salad (bring your own dressing). The Chili is often touted as a more healthful alternative, but check it out…it actually has about 40 different ingredients!

Sushi: I don’t eat sushi at all….ever. But I found this tip online to pass on.  😉

Order the sashimi or nigiri. In general, the fancier the roll’s name (Las Vegas, Wonderful, Godzilla) or the higher its price the more sauces and stuff it’ll have in it.

DINE IN RESTAURANTS 

Applebees Collage

The same rules apply here that apply to fast food restaurants, with a few added suggestions.

1) Avoid those restaurants which you find it hard to stand up to temptation.

You can usually find something on the menu at any sit-down style restaurant to fit your clean(er) eating lifestyle, even if it is a dinner salad with some veggies on the side. Most restaurants will switch menu items up a little bit for you, and conform your order to your preferences. Usually, me deciding NOT to go to a certain restaurant has more to do with my own weakness and knowing that I will not be able to say no to something. BJ’s Brewery is that place for me. I LOVE their pizza and their pazookies and I know there is NO WAY I am going to eat a salad there! And I know I won’t get out of there without at least splitting a pazookie! I will go here a few times a year if I know I have been really good on my eating plan. Otherwise, I steer clear!

2) Choose which restaurants you will allow yourself to eat at occasionally.

Know what restaurants are near you; check out their menus, and pick a few that you are really ok with. Then use those as your “go to” restaurants, for the most part. There may be times you want to switch it up a bit, and that’s ok to do. But if you have a few regulars to pick from, you are less likely to find yourself someplace you didn’t really plan on going, eating something you didn’t plan on eating! I try to have at least one or two “go to” choices from each cuisine category; Mexican, Asian, Steak, Italian, and a couple all American.  😉

I also have a few different options in Rancho Cucamonga, Redlands and by the beach, since we often find ourselves there on day trips where we need/want to eat out.

3) Know the menu and decide what you will order BEFORE you get there

This is very easy to do with restaurants nowadays, because almost all of them have their menus and the nutritional values of each menu item online. If you can’t ever get online to do some restaurant research, you can always get the information at the restaurant. I would suggest you go and get the nutritional information BEFORE you are going to dine there, so you will have time to look it over good to make the best decisions. Keep one from each restaurant you plan on frequenting (occasionally) at home, where you can refer to it as needed.

4) Decide how often you will eat out at a “Dine In” Restaurant

I do this just as a guideline, because going out to eat varies for us according to the time of year and what we have going on. If I’m not careful, I can suddenly realize we are eating out a few times a week regularly. Setting a baseline for myself helps to keep me ‘in check.’ If we go over the amount I have set one week, I don’t freak out, I just know to get back on track.

 

WHEN YOU DO DINE OUT:

There are a few different ethnic restaurants that most people frequent off and on. Below are a few tips on how to survive and eat as clean as possible in these different cuisines.

Mexican Food

There can be many healthy options at Mexican restaurants. Try to stick to the meals with vegetables and meats. Burrito bowls and fajitas are good options. The meat used in fajitas are also usually grilled instead of fried, meaning less fat. Forego the flour tortillas.

What to get: Soft tacos, fajitas, burrito bowls, fresh meat (beef & chicken), vegetables, fresh salsa, cilantro.

What to avoid: Sour cream, cheese, tortilla chips, white tortilla.

 

American Food

As you navigate through all the high fat meals like burgers and fries on most menus, you can find a number of healthy options. Salads are the best choice if you are careful and avoid the fatty dressings. You may need to bring your own dressing from home. Grilled chicken is often offered, but be careful of all the sauces and sides they add to it. Plain grilled chicken and a side of veggies is a great option! If you are getting a burger, or any other type of sandwich, order one with leaner beef, as burgers often have high amounts of saturated fats. You can also ask for a lettuce or tortilla wrap instead of the bun for your burger. Avoid the fries at all costs!

What to get: Salads, grilled meats and fish, fresh veggies, sweet potatoes.

What to avoid: Enriched flour buns, high-calorie salad dressing, sauces on burgers, and anything fried.

 

Mediterranean Food

Most of the ingredients in many Mediterranean foods are very healthy, however, sometimes they are either fried, heavily buttered or drowned in some rich, fattening sauce that quickly decreases the food’s nutritional value. You can order grilled meats instead of fried, and ask to have your dish served with the sauce on the side. Eat that sauce sparingly, even if it is something good for you, like hummus. While it is packed with fiber and protein, it is loaded with calories and can easily be over-consumed.

What to get: Chicken, lamb, beef, fish, vegetables.

What to avoid: Cheeses (feta and goat cheeses are okay in moderation), fatty dipping sauces, fried foods (calamari, falafel), pita bread (ask for whole wheat if you are going to eat it).

Indian Food

I have recently discovered an affinity for Indian food. I love the spices in it, although I usually have to ask for a ‘mild’ version! As with Mediterranean cuisine, many Indian dishes feature rich sauces, so be sure to ask for them to be served on the side. Stick to the high protein meals with vegetables and be sure to get some lentils which are packed with fiber and protein. Many Indian meals come with potatoes so try to avoid them where possible.

What to get: Meat based meals with low amounts of sauce (tandoori chicken), vegetables, spices, lentils.

What to avoid/eat in moderation: Breads (naan, roti), rice, curry, potatoes, sauces.

Asian food (Chinese, Thai, Japanese, Vietnamese)

It can be tricky eating clean at Asian restaurants as many dishes come with fried food and are often loaded with various sauces. Some combo meals (eg: garlic chicken & fried rice) and soups also have high levels of sodium in them, so try to watch out for them. Tom Yum soup is often a safe bet as it is usually loaded with nutritious veggies and meats, while also low in calories. The good news is that you can usually custom order what you want.

What to get: Raw fish (sushi), steamed or stir-fried meats/veggies, brown rice, low calorie soups (Tom Yum), salads (Thai beef salad, larb chicken) and anything without sauces.

What to avoid: Anything fried, most sauces, lo-mein noodles, white rice, prawn crackers.

 

IN REVIEW:

  • Do your homework!

Before you arrive at the restaurant, check the menu and nutritional information on their website.  Most major chains will have very thorough nutritional information that you should review in order to determine the best meal option that meets your dietary requirements. Avoid the usual suspects – deep fried, creamy, sodium laden, sugary, etc.

  •  Order water.

Get rid of the empty calories found in sodas and sweetened beverages.  Free refills and sitting around a table chatting with friends for nearly an hour is an easy way to consume ridiculous levels of sugar (or even worse, chemically altered products that are turned into sugar).  If you need some flavor in your water, squeeze a lime or lemon into it.

  •  Don’t be afraid to be ‘that girl’!

Ask your server questions like how certain dishes are prepared, what toppings come on it, or if you can substitute certain unhealthy sides for steamed vegetables, a side salad with olive oil and vinegar or a plain sweet potato. You are paying for it, you may as well get what you want!

There may be times when you are with a new crowd, or dining out with friends or family members who tease you for ‘being picky’. I’ve been in this position before, and it can be uncomfortable. I just have to remember my commitment to clean eating and not worry about what other people think. Chances are, they aren’t going to think less of you just because you altered your order at dinner. And if you’re worried about what the server thinks of you then you haven’t fully committed yourself to the clean eating lifestyle.

You can usually create your own entrée. Despite how it appears at most restaurants, often you’re not limited to how things are organized and offered on the menu. For instance, maybe you can order the halibut but tell them to replace the cheese sauce with the mango salsa that’s on the nachos. And if broccoli accompanies the prime rib, you can order some of it even though it’s not listed as a separate side dish. The point is if the ingredients are already in the kitchen, the chef should be willing to combine them in more healthful ways.

  •  Skip the appetizers.

We all know most appetizers are not healthy, so don’t even order them.  If someone else at your table does order them, resist the temptation…there is absolutely no nutritional value in 99% of the appetizers found in restaurants.

  • Keep your order simple.

Grilled chicken, steamed fish, salad…these have been the old standbys for dieters, and they remain so for clean eaters. The simpler the food, the more unprocessed it is. Period.

  •  Ask for a box as soon as you get your meal.

For those needing to practice portion control and limiting calories, ask for a box when you get your food and immediately put half of your meal in the box, close it, and put it somewhere where you will not have the urge to go in for seconds.  Not only does this save on calories, but it spreads your meal cost over two meals.

  •  Skip the dessert!

Did this even need to be said?  😉   Please know that it is OK to indulge every once in a while for special celebrations and occasions and you should not feel guilty doing so.  You can even find fresh fruits on many dessert menus! But, keep in mind your true desires and know that you need commitment and consistency to achieve your goals!

REMEMBER:

The satisfaction that you get from eating tasty but unhealthy foods is fleeting.

The fulfillment you receive from building the body that you’ve always dreamed of is enduring.

Not only will you love the way you look, but you will feel better, have more energy and exude more self-confidence. The journey you will take to get there will open new doors and give you a new-found perspective on life, which will make you happier and more successful.

3 thoughts on “Beating the Challenges of Eating Out

    • In & Out is such a So CA. staple as far as fast foods go, it’s hard NOT to stop there now and then. Ideadly, for me, I employ the 90/10 rule: 90% clean food to 10% not. Those percentages will look different for different people, and they will even look different for the same person, depending on what they have going on in any given week or month. I try to set my percentage goals each month and stick to them daily. I need boundaries and guidelines, or I will ‘color outside the lines’ every time!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment